Centennial Professorship Award

About the Award

In 1984, the Associated Students of Arizona State University (ASASU) had a vision. They sought to recognize, encourage, and award ASU faculty based on their outstanding leadership and instruction both within and beyond the classroom. The need to attract and retain the highest quality leaders and teachers to our faculty was the catalyst that led to the establishment of the Associated Students Centennial Endowment Fund which allowed the creation of the Centennial Professorship Award.

By acknowledging and promoting these qualities of academic excellence and community service and embeddedness in our faculty, the Centennial Professorship program seeks to encourage all faculty members to continue their innovative educational practices both in and outside the classroom.

The Centennial Professorship Award is very prestigious, and recipients are recognized and announced in April on the GPSA & ASASU website and in the GPSA Awards Ceremony.



Applications Open: Friday, 09th February 2024
Applications Closes: Saturday, 09th March 2024
Evaluations Period: Monday, 10th March 2024 - Wednesday, 10th April 2024
Results Announcement: Monday, 15th April 2024


Application  Application Rubric

Applications now open!


If you have questions, please contact GPSA’s Awards Team (gpsa.awards@gmail.com). 

Centennial Professorship Award Past Recipients


Anamitra Pal Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
  Carolyn Cavanaugh The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  Danko Sipka The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences


Megan Jehn The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  Kelvin Wong The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  Carola Grebitus W.P. Carey School of Business
2021 Geoffrey Gonsher Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions
  Michael Ostling Barrett, The Honors College
  Susanne Pfeifer The College: School of Life Sciences
2020 Aggie Yellow Horse School of Social Transformation, Asian Pacific American Studies & Justice and Social Inquiry
  Silvie Huijben School of Life Sciences, Center for Evolution and Medicine
  Yang Weng School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
2019 Matthew Buman College of Health Solutions
  Javier Gonzalez-Sanchez CIDSE (School of Computing Informatics and Decisions Systems Engineering)
  Marianne Moore College of Integrative Sciences and Arts, Science and Mathematics
2018 Brooke Coley Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
  Justin Jager T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics
  Barbara S. Smith School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering
2017 Chingwen Cheng The Design School
  Wendy Oakes Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
  Lindsey Moses Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
2016 Joseph Henderson Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College
2015 Joseph Blattman School of Life Sciences
  Sara Brownell School of Life Sciences
  Jacquelyn Scott Lynch Barrett, the Honors College
2014 Bonnie Wentzel Social & Behavioral Sciences
  Alice Daer English Department
2013 Douglas Kelley Social & Behavioral Sciences
  Daniel Hruschka School of Human Evolution and Social Change
  Sarah Buel College of Law
2012 Aaron Golub School of Sustainability
  Cynthia Lietz College Of Public Programs
2011 Calvin Schermerhorn School of History Philosophical, & Religious Studies
  George Wolf Chemistry and Biochemistry
2010 Kellie Palazzolo School Of Communication
  Christopher Wharton Nutrition Program
2009 David Frakes

Department of Electrical Engineering/Department of Bioengineering

  Susan Beiner School Of Art
2008 Kimberly Scott Educational Leadership and Policy
  Guy Cardineau BioDesign/School of Life Sciences
2007 Jennifer Brougham Social & Family Dynamics
  Pamela Stewart History
  Orde Kittrie College of Law
2006 Jennifer Tsukayama Department of Dance
  Robert Edsall Department of Geography
2005 John Rosa Asian Pacific American Studies
  Laura Peck Public Programs
2004 Matthew C. Whitaker Department of History
  Janetta McCoy College of Design
2003 Shannon Ringenbach Kinesiology
  Kyle Longley College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2002 Kaye Reed Anthropology
  Andrew Ellis Geography